ACL rehab update!

I’ve finally dragged myself to the computer to give you all an update. So I’m 14 weeks post ACL op and it’s going pretty well. It has been up and down and at times I’ve felt extremely frustrated and couldn’t bring myself to write about my rehab as it wasn’t as positive as I wanted it to be. I had problems with infection in the scar and then I aggravated the fat pads, both hindered my progress. I seem to be over those problems now and I’m progressing nicely.

 

I’m back to running, on the treadmill and that’s building up nicely. I’ve started smashing out some hideous rowing sessions. I’m skipping, biking, balancing, hopping and rehabbing like a nutter! Along with my normal upper body weights. So keeping fairly busy with my part time work too.

 

The experts tell me I am on track for my return to Judo in December which is fantastic and very reassuring. So I have another review with the Physio tomorrow and I’m hoping to bring in some changing direction work into my program. So far I have just been doing straight line work.

 

I’m feeling positive, although it’s been extremely hard watching my team mates go off to compete in the World Championships and being left behind at home practicing balancing on one leg! But I have to keep the bigger picture in mind. It’s all about London 2012….

About samanthalowe2012

Fulltime Judo Player trying to achieve my Lifelong dream of fighting in the Olympic Games
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to ACL rehab update!

  1. Glad it’s going better for you now, just follow the advice you’re given, as any additional stress could set you back.
    Keep smiling.
    I know it’s hard. I’m working on a return to competition too at the moment, I sometimes find it hard to stay motivated, but I know it’ll be worth it in the end.

Leave a comment